beach

Belle Mare

Friday March 20, 2020

Belle mare, stretching for several kilometers is one of the most beautiful beaches around the island and still reasonably wild.

Facing east and the rising sun, Belle mare, stretching for several kilometers is one of the most beautiful beaches around the island and still reasonably wild. The sugar fields have generously agreed to leave some space to other crops. The small planters as they are called here, grow fruits and vegetables. The sun is hot, Sanjay, under his improvised shelter watches his « brinzel et zonion » grow! This sandy soil is without doubt ideal for his aubergines and onions.

 The parking spaces are organized along the main road thus leaving wide stretches of green all along the beach.  During week days, Belle Mare is quiet. Seeven on his motorbike equipped with a glass showcase full of colorful preserved fruits and vegetables goes up and down this “forbidden to vehicles” stretch! He hails Mariana, we can hear a mix of Italian, English and French words… Mariana seems happy, she carries now a precious artistically peeled yellow pineapple…

 Here, the reef is quite far from the beach, the lagoon exposed to the south Easters is a bit more choppy but harmless. Swimming is a real delight! The sea changes color all day long according to the rays of the sun, the depth of the sea and the sandy bottom, what a sight! I wish I was an artist…

 The village, further inland, is not an organized touristic village. Sega skirts, T Shirts and sarongs hanging along open passages may give an impression of commercial organization. A few grocery shops but no coffee shops or restaurants in sight…

 Unlike the other coastal villages, Belle Mare is quiet and peaceful, no shopping centers or important villages around… The hotels although quite numerous, are discreet, a real seaside atmosphere.

Avatar Written with love by Celina

Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Talk to Mauritius @attitude_hotels

plage

Belle Mare

vendredi mars 20, 2020

Belle Mare

Plein Est, face au soleil levant, l’une des plus jolies et longues plages de l’île-Maurice.

Plein Est, face au soleil levant Belle Mare est incontestablement l’une des plus jolies et longues plages de l’île-Maurice. Elle s’alanguit sur plusieurs kilomètres offrant un paysage des plus sauvages. La canne à sucre laisse place aux terres maraîchères où les villageois cultivent fruits et légumes. Sanjay, assis sous un abri de fortune pour se protéger du soleil, observe sa plantation de « brinzel et zonion ». Pour lui pas de doute, le sol sablonneux est idéal pour la culture « d’aubergines et d’oignons »!

Les aires de stationnement sont aménagées en bordure de route, ce qui laisse de grands espaces verts s’étendre jusqu’à la plage. Le lieu est calme et peu fréquenté en semaine. Seeven, sur sa moto aménagée d’une ‘cantine’ de fruits confits, supposé interdite, roule tranquillement en bordure de plage… Il interpelle Mariana, une touriste en route pour la plage… dialogue moitié italien avec un peu d’anglais et quelques mots de français ! Mariana s’en va avec un bel ananas en main.

La barrière corallienne est très loin du rivage… Exposé aux vents du sud-est, le lagon est plus agité quelques fois mais la baignade est sans risque. Les couleurs de la mer changent au fil des heures selon l’incidence des rayons de soleil, la profondeur de l’eau, les fonds sableux ou coralliens…

Le village de Belle Mare situé dans l’arrière-pays n’est pas vraiment un village touristique. Vêtements et artisanats s’alignent vaillamment dans un semblant de centre sans café ni restos… juste quelques épiceries bien achalandées.

Il est vrai que Belle Mare laisse une impression d’espace, de paix, loin des centres commerciaux et agglomérations comme sur d’autres lieux du littoral… Les hôtels y sont nombreux mais discrets.

Jane Doe Ecrit avec amour par Jane Doe

Commentaires

Poster le commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Pour discuter avec l'ile Maurice @attitude_hotels